Home

the river

By this river,
I saw a helpless figure,
A kid stuck between a rock and a hard current,
I think he needs a hand and a prayer.
He looks like his compass is missing,
And as if he’s more sad than afraid.
So I try to play savior,
And reach for some fingers, a wrist, a arm or something,
But he comes up too short for my support,
And I see that even if I’m shoulder deep,
We’re just not connecting today.
I try to think quick, fast, and rushed but he’s fading in shades,
“Hey kid, hear my call of assistance!”
I repeat but he’ll only reply in ethos.
“I quit!”
Its a dead mission to continue,
Because I’ll either die swiping at this mirage,
Or realize that I’m the one drowning…

 

Leave a Reply

